Comfort food when the kids are sick

First week at work, and of course the kids get sick. Nothing serious, runny noses, cranky, sleepy. But still, sick enough to stay home. We try to share our “VABB” (it’s a term widely used by parents and our Försäkringskassan (our social insurance agency where we get our “sick pay” from) that very roughly translated is short for “taking care for a sick child”  time) equally. So, as I only work part time, I was home anyway on Tuesday and Thursday was my VABB day.

I’m of the serious opinion that a child that is not well, he/she should be spoiled rotten. If the kid wants ice cream, give him/her ice cream! Well, I didn’t have much of that. What I did have was a very ripe banana. So, for snack time I made banana pancakes. It’s a very simple recipe for an American style kind of pancake. I try to make it healthier by using whole spelt flour or mixing in some oats. I make it unhealthy by serving them with chocolate spread (like Nutella) or maple syrup (for me).

Banana pancakes (makes about 8 small pancakes)

1 ripe banana

1 egg

1 tsp butter

1/2 tsp vanilla extract or 1 tsp vanilla sugar

40 g flour (I use whole spelt flour)

1 tsp baking powder

Mash the banana, mix with the rest of the ingredients. Cook until golden on each side. Eat!

Leave a Reply

