Is the grass really greener?

I’m the kind of person that always thinks the grass is greener somewhere else. So much, that sometimes I forget that my grass is really green enough. Luckily I eventually always come to this conclusion.

One of the biggest challenges after having kids, I’ve found, is accepting that my time isn’t only mine anymore. It’s taken me a while  and some days I still tend to forget, and find myself wishing I was somewhere else. After having our second child, I finally came to peace with this fact. It just became too hard to fit in “me” time into my day (even though sometimes it’s really a necessity to maintain my mental sanity). The weird thing is that generally, I don’t really mind. I actually enjoy spending an hour (or more) every evening putting one or two kids to bed. I might even go as far as to say it’s the highlight of my day! I relax when they relax. They are calmer than at any other time during the day, so I get to really watch them and their little faces, I get to smell them and kiss them lots and think how lucky I am to have them in my life and how proud I am of them and all their little accomplishments.

Then, I can’t imagine the grass being greener anywhere else.

xx

Leave a Reply

