My project is live!

Busy like a little bee. That’s been me for the last 6 months and now more than ever. Why? Because I’ve changed careers and am now proud to call myself “hotelier”! Yes, I’ve started a small… well, not really sure how to label us – hostel? guesthouse? B&B? Find it very difficult with the labeling. In Swedish I call us “Gästhem” – guest home. Lotshuset Gästhem. I like it, it’s not very commonly used. But I find it a warm and welcoming word.

In booking.com and on the Swedish Tourist organisation site (Hostelling International) we’re a hostel (the smallest one in Sweden!). A high end one, I guess. Here you will always find a made up bed and breakfast served with an unbeatable sea view. I don’t have a restaurant but there is one around the corner, I can otherwise cater unless our guest like to prepare their own meals in our little kitchen.

In the little historical building (built 1861) we have three guest rooms and three bathrooms, a communal kitchen, small sitting areas up in the tower and a small attic sitting room for rainy days. All carefully renovated. We also have a large terrace for those long Nordic summer days.

Anyway, we’ve only been in business for three weeks! It’s all exciting, overwhelming and hard work 🙂 And if you feel like visiting we’re less than an hour away from Umeå, European Capital of Culture 2014 (mentioned as a must visit destination 2014 by both NY Times and Lonely Planet)

I share some pictures with you. What do you think?
DSC_3833

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

